HTC HD2 to get official upgrade to Windows Mobile 7?

 

Long-time readers will know, by now, that when I see a phone I want, I really have trouble shutting up about it. I was exactly like this before the Sony Ericsson X1 got released, and I didn’t shut up about it for months (until I actually bought one, in fact). You will also know that the phone I’ve currently got my sights on is the HTC HD2, and as such I, once again, cannot shut up about it. Hell, look at it this way: it must be a good phone; it even stopped me wanting the Sony Ericsson X2, the other phone I’d been mitering about for months…

 It is, as I have said many, many times, an awesome beastie, and according to Pocket Now, it’s going to get even more awesome in the future.That’s because, apparently, it’s going to get an official update to Windows Mobile 7…

 Now, for anyone who isn’t up to speed on Microsoft happenings, WinMo 7 is going to be their full, next-gen version of the mobile OS. As they’ve always said, WinMo 6.5 is merely a stopgap, a new incarnation of the current Windows Mobile environment. If you’re talking next-gen, all-the-stops-pulled-out awesomeness, Windows Mobile 7 is where it’s at, baby.This is exciting, because I already think WinMo 6.5 is the canine’s conkers. Sure, it’s not perfect (as iPhone and Android fans are quick to point out), but it’s far from being a dead OS (as iPhone and Android always, and I do mean always, keep telling me, usually whilst calling me backwards for liking WinMo). It really is powerful, and the only real issues with it are the bits where the interface is, admittedly, showing its age.But that doesn’t make it a bad OS. If you prefer Android, then fair play to ya, but I prefer using WinMo, so deal with it…

 So, based on the fact I already like WinMo 6.5, and on the fact that WinMo 7 will be even more brillianter, when the HTC HD2 does get an official update to version 7 (the confirmation apparently coming from HTC’s own Twitter feed, saying it will happen), it could well become the most incredible, powerful, and downright mind-blowing smartphone that has ever existed.I think it’s not unfair to say that when that happens, as well, it will enter the all-time great phone hall of fame, and will remain the best phone ever made for some time to come.But then, it doesn’t run on Android, so I know at least 50% of the people reading this will hate me and call me backward for saying that…

Source: http://www.mobileshop.com/

Leave a Reply

